## The name of a state can be changed



The name of a state can be changed through the following procedure:

- 1. *Resolution in the State Legislature:* The process typically begins with a resolution passed by the State Legislature of the concerned state, proposing the change of name. This resolution should clearly state the new name the state wishes to adopt.
- 2. *Recommendation to the President:* After passing the resolution in the State Legislature, it is sent to the Governor of the state. The Governor then forwards it to the President of India for consideration.
- 3. *Constitutional Amendment:* Changing the name of a state requires amending the Indian Constitution. A constitutional amendment can be initiated in either of the two houses of the Indian Parliament (Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha). The amendment must be passed by a two-thirds majority of the members present and voting.
- 4. *President's Assent:* Once the constitutional amendment is passed by both houses of Parliament, it is sent to the President for his/her assent. The President's approval is essential for the amendment to become law.
- 5. *Publication in the Gazette:* After receiving the President's assent, the amendment is published in the official Gazette of India. This publication makes the name change legally effective.

## 1. Odisha (formerly Orissa):

- The state of Orissa officially changed its name to Odisha in 2011 to reflect the correct pronunciation of its name in the Odia language.
- 2. Karnataka (formerly Mysore):

- The state of Mysore was renamed Karnataka in 1973 to represent all the linguistic and regional groups within the state better. The renaming was significant for several reasons:
- Linguistic Inclusivity: The change aimed to reflect the linguistic diversity of the state, as Kannada is the predominant language, but there are also other linguistic communities.
- Historical Significance: "Karnataka" is a more historically significant name, derived from the Kannada words "Kari" (black) and "Nadu" (land), referring to the black soil of the region.
- Cultural Identity: The name change emphasized the state's cultural identity, as it was not just about Mysore (a city within the state) but the entire state as a whole.
- $\succ$
- 3. Kerala (formerly Travancore-Cochin and Malabar):
- The present-day state of Kerala was formed by merging the regions of Travancore-Cochin and Malabar in 1956. It was named Kerala to reflect its heritage and linguistic diversity.
- 4. Telangana (formerly part of Andhra Pradesh):
- Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh as a separate state in 2014 to address regional demands for greater autonomy.
- 5. Jharkhand (formerly part of Bihar):
- Jharkhand was created as a separate state from Bihar in the year 2000 to give tribal communities in the region greater political representation and economic development.
- 6. Uttarakhand (formerly Uttaranchal):

- The state of Uttaranchal was renamed Uttarakhand in 2007 to emphasize its location in the northern Himalayan region.
- 7. Chhattisgarh (formerly part of Madhya Pradesh):
- Chhattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh in 2000 to create a separate state for the Chhattisgarhi-speaking population.
- 8. Gujarat and Maharashtra:
- The states of Gujarat and Maharashtra were created in 1960 when the bilingual state of Bombay was split along linguistic lines to form two separate states.
- 9. West Bengal (formerly West Bengal and East Bengal):
- West Bengal retained its name even after the partition of Bengal in 1947 when East Bengal became part of Pakistan (now Bangladesh).
- 10.Uttar Pradesh (formerly United Provinces of Agra and Oudh):
- The state of Uttar Pradesh was known as the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh during British rule. It adopted its current name after independence.

11.Sikkim (formerly a protectorate of India):

• Sikkim was a protectorate of India before it became the 22nd state of India in 1975, after a referendum that affirmed its merger with India.

12.Manipur, Tripura, and Meghalaya (formerly part of Assam):

• These northeastern states were part of the larger state of Assam before they were granted separate statehood in 1972.

13.Arunachal Pradesh (formerly North-East Frontier Agency - NEFA):

• NEFA was renamed Arunachal Pradesh in 1972 when it was granted Union Territory status and later became a full-fledged state in 1987.

## 14.Nagaland (formerly Naga Hills-Tuensang Area):

- Nagaland was carved out of the Naga Hills-Tuensang Area in 1963 to create a separate state for the Naga people.
- 15.Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry):
  - The Union Territory of Puducherry was officially renamed from Pondicherry in 2006 to include its surrounding areas of Karaikal, Mahe, and Yanam.

## 16. Delhi:

- Historical Context: Delhi, the capital city of India, has a rich history dating back to ancient times. It was originally known as Indraprastha in the Mahabharata, and various rulers and dynasties have left their mark on the city over the centuries.
- Renaming to New Delhi: In 1911, during British colonial rule, the decision was made to shift the capital of India from Calcutta (Kolkata) to Delhi. The new capital, designed by British architect Edwin Lutyens and named New Delhi, was inaugurated in 1931.
- Continued Use of "Delhi": While New Delhi is the official capital and administrative district of India, "Delhi" is often used colloquially to refer to the larger metropolitan area, which includes New Delhi and Old Delhi (Shahjahanabad), the historic walled city. So, the renaming essentially created a distinction between New Delhi and the older parts of the city.



